Sunfire receives Global Cleantech 100 Award for sixth time

Sunfire receives Global Cleantech 100 Award for sixth time

Berlin-based Sunfire GmbH, a leading global technology company in the field of renewable gases and fuels, has been named one of the Global Cleantech 100 companies for the sixth consecutive year.

The award recognises world leaders in sustainable innovation for their outstanding performance.

Those recognised are companies from various sectors that make a promising contribution to the decarbonisation of a sustainable future through their work in digitisation, research and development.

Founded in 2010, Sunfire GmbH develops and produces high-temperature electrolysers (SOEC) and high-temperature fuel cells (SOFC), with more than 140 employees around the world.

The high-temperature electrolysis generates valuable hydrogen from water and is powered by renewable electricity. In the newest and most efficient version, high-temperature electrolysis can reactivate not only water but also carbon dioxide (CO2), converting exhaust gas back to a clean raw material that replaces crude oil or natural gas. This will make the entire transport sector and many industrial processes, which today depend on oil, gas or coal, sustainable and CO2-neutral.

An 80-member expert panel examined and evaluated over 10,000 companies from 93 different countries to create the Cleantech Top 100 list, with Sunfire acknowledged for the sixth consecutive year.

“Given that 2019 has been a very successful year for all of us at Sunfire, we are all the more pleased that our technology is receiving significant international recognition,” reflected Nils Aldag, Sunfire’s Managing Director.

“We have now reached the point where the technology for a major energy transition is available. Policymakers must now create incentives for a rapid market launch, in order to utilise the full potential of Power-to-X to decarbonise energy-intensive sectors in the short term, before it is too late. We at Sunfire are ready to help drive the great transformation and are therefore very pleased to receive this award.”

About the author
Related Posts
Please wait...