Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Hydrogen Task Force launched

Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Hydrogen Task Force launched

Over the next ten weeks, a new Candian Task Force will set the stage for a long-term build out of a hydrogen economy in Alberta’s Industrial Heartland.

Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Hydrogen Task Force will produce a public report detailing the approach and steps needed to advance a zero emission fuel economy in the region.

The Task Force was organised by The Transition Accelerator in tandem with Sturgeon County Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Edmonton Mayor Don Iveson, Fort Saskatchewan Mayor Gale Katchur, Strathcona County Mayor Rod Frank and Lamont County Reeve David Diduck.

Other members of the group include an additional roster of government, business, energy, academic and sustainability leaders.

“Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Hydrogen Task Force is the result of government, industry and academia coming together to champion real change so Alberta can win economically and environmentally in a changing world,” said Dan Wicklum, CEO of The Transition Acclerator.

“Picture Alberta using and supplying the world with zero-emission fuel made by upgrading natural gas. This could be a part of a very strong future for Alberta and Canada.”

Looking towards a hydrogen-fuelled future, the Task Force recognises the unique strengths of Alberta’s Industrial Heartland make it among the world’s lowest cost producers of hydrogen – at approximately half the wholesale cost of diesel.

The Task Force’s important analysis is the first step to identifying the broader economic opportunities that growing large-scale clean hydrogen production and use can bring to Alberta.

These efforts also complement work that the Government of Canada has been leading, with private sector stakeholders, and governments, to develop a hydrogen strategy for Canada.

“Alberta’s abundant, low-cost feedstock, skilled labour, and extensive infrastructure can make us a leader in the production, use and export of zero emission hydrogen,” said Alanna Hnatiw, Mayor, Sturgeon County and Chair, Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association.

“The Mayors of the five municipalities of Alberta’s Industrial Heartland are playing a key role in developing a framework that will power our economy and build our national and global reputation as innovators.”

The Task Force’s final report will be released in July 2020.

About the author
Related Posts
Please wait...